The University of Perpetual Help will once again recognize outstanding practitioners, programs, and organizations in the field of mass media in the 4th ALTA Media Icon Awards (AMIA) to be held on October 5, 2018 at the Ernesto Palanca Crisostomo Hall, University of Perpetual Las Piñas Campus. The theme of this year’s award is “#PERPETUALIKE: The Youth & the Media Setting the Trend for Excellence”.

            AMIA is a students’ choice award-giving body that aims to honor outstanding media programs, personalities and organizations that have contributed to the country’s social development and promoted Filipino values anchored on the Perpetualite philosophy of “Character Building is Nation Building”.

The 66 awardees were chosen by College and Senior High School students of University of Perpetual Help – Las Piñas, the largest of all Perpetual DALTA campuses with more than 10,000-strong college and senior high student population. A separate screening committee comprised of esteemed administrators and educators judged the 4 recepients for the Iconic Awards, a special recognition given to media personalities who have been in the industry for more than forty years.

The awarding rites will be led by Mr. Anthony Jose M. Tamayo, University President; Dr. Alfonso H. Loreto, School Director; Dr. Joven Sepino, College of Arts and Sciences Dean; Rowena G. Morta, Chairperson of Department of Communication; and Alda Lou Cabrera, Professor and the Project Head. This annual event is managed by BA Communication students under the College of Arts and Sciences.

Following is the list of winners of the 4th ALTA Media Icon Awards:






  1. Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA 7) -Best Magazine Show
  2. SOCO (ABS-CBN 2) -Best Documentary Program
  3. TV Patrol (ABS-CBN 2)- Best News Program
  4. Ipaglaban Mo (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Public Service Program
  5. Umagang Kay Ganda (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Morning Show
  6. It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Noontime Variety Show
  7. ASAP (ABS-CBN 2) -Best Musical Variety Show
  8. Born to Be Wild (GMA 7) -Best Travel Program
  9. Pop Talk (GMA 7) – Best Lifestyle Program
  10. Matanglawin (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Educational Program
  11. Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Youth-Oriented Program
  12. Magandang Buhay (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show
  13. Tapatan ni Tunying (ABS-CBN 2) – Best News Talk Program
  14. Home Sweetie Home (ABS-CBN 2) -Best Comedy Program
  15. Ikaw Lang ang Iibigin (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Daytime Drama Series
  16. FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano (ABS-CBN 2) -Best Primetime Drama Series
  17. Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Drama Anthology
  18. I Can See Your Voice (ABS-CBN 2) -Best Game Show
  19. Sports U (ABS-CBN 2)- Best Sports Program
  20. Your Face Sounds Familiar-Kids (Season 3)
  21. (ABS-CBN 2)  – Best Talent Competition



  1. Jessica Soho (Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho/GMA 7) -Best Magazine Show Host
  2. Howie Severino (i-Witness/GMA 7) – Best Documentary Program Host
  3. Cheryl Cosim (Aksyon/TV5) -Best News Program Host
  4. Julius Babao (Mission Possible/ABS-CBN 2) – Best Public Service Program Host
  5. Amy Perez (Umagang Kay Ganda/ABS-CBN 2) -Best Morning Show Host
  6. Vice Ganda (It’s Showtime/ABS-CBN 2)  – Best Variety Show Host
  7. Gina Lopez (G Diaries/ABS-CBN 2) -Best Travel Show Host
  8. Bianca Gonzales (Modern Living TV/ANC) – Best Lifestyle Program Host
  9. Kim Atienza (Matanglawin/ABS-CBN 2) -Best Educational Program Host
  10. Winnie Monsod (Bawal ang Pasaway Kay Mareng Winnie/GMA 7) -Best News Talk Program Host
  1. Eugene Domingo (Celebrity Bluff/GMA 7) – Best Game Show Host
  2. Dyan Castillejo (Sports U/ABS-CBN 2) – Best Sports Program Host
  3. Suzi Abrera (Mars/GMA News TV) – Best Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host
  4. Robi Domingo (I Can Do That/ABS-CBN 2) – Best Talent Competition Host
  5. Chlaui Malayao (Daig Kayo ng Lola Ko/GMA 7) – Best Child Performer for TV
  6. Michael V. (Pepito Manaloto/GMA 7) –  Best Comedy Program Actor
  7. Manilyn Reynes (Pepito Manaloto/GMA 7) – Best Comedy Program Actress
  8. Coco Martin (FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano/ABS-CBN 2) – Best Actor for TV
  9. Maja Salvador (Wildflower/ABS-CBN 2) – Best Actress for TV
  10. Daniel Padilla (ABS-CBN 2) – Most Influential Male TV Personality
  11. Liza Soberano (ABS-CBN 2) – Most Influential Female TV Personality
  12. Joshua Garcia (ABS-CBN 2) – Most Promising Male Star for TV
  13. Kyline Alcantara (GMA 7) – Most Promising Female Star for TV
  14. JoshLia – Joshua Garcia & Julia Barretto (ABS-CBN 2) – Best Love Team




  1. DZBB Super Radyo 594 – Best AM Radio Station
  2. Dos Por Dos (DZMM Radyo Patrol 630) – Best AM Radio Program
  3. Karen Davila (Pasada Sais Trenta/DZMM) -Best AM Radio Female Personality
  4. Anthony Taberna (Dos Por Dos/DZMM)-Best AM Radio Male Personality
  5. MOR 101.9 -Best FM Radio Station
  6. MORning Pinas (MOR 101.9) – Best FM Radio Program
  7. DJ Raqi Terra (Love Radio 90.7) – Best FM Radio Female Personality
  8. DJ Chris Tsuper (Love Radio 90.7)-Best FM Radio Male Personality




  1. Manila Bulletin – Best Broadsheet
  2. Pilipino Star Ngayon – Best Tabloid




  1. Kita Kita (VIVA Films/Spring Films) -Movie of the Year
  2. Empoy Marquez (Kita Kita/VIVA Films & Spring Films) -Best Actor for Film
  3. Bela Padilla (100 Tula Para Kay Stella/VIVA Films) -Best Actress for Film
  4. Awra Briguela (Ang Panday/ABS-CBN Film Productions & CCM Film Productions)  – Best Child Performer for Film




  1. Michael Pangilinan (Bakit Ba Ikaw/Star Music)-Best Male Recording Artist
  2. Moira dela Torre (Titibo-Tibo/Star Music) – Best Female Recording Artist
  3. Ben & Ben (Kathang Isip/Warner Music Phils. – Best Band
  4. Mundo (IV of Spades/Warner Music Phils.) –  Song of the Year




  1. Kimpoy Feliciano –  Most Influential Male Social Media Personality
  1. Alex Gonzaga      -Most Influential Female Social Media Personality




  1. KZ Tandingan – Gawad Antonio Laperal Tamayo Special Citation for Outstanding Performance and Promotion of Filipino Pride in an International Music Competition




  1. Charo Santos-Concio – Iconic Awardee for Broadcast and Film
  2. Sharon Cuneta  -Iconic Awardee for Broadcast, Film and Music
  1. Lea Salonga  –   Iconic Awardee for Music
  2. Jose Mari Chan – Iconic Awardee for Music