Perpetual Altas Captures Historic 1st Crown in NCAA Chess

WOODPUSHERS from the South made statement as they captured their first plum in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) after 34 years since they joined the league in 1985.

Altas Board 1 Genesis Borromeo finished his opponent Joshua Arias of AU via Bogo Indian Defense in 2 hours and 50 minutes of board pushing.

Rookie – First Year Accountancy Major John Marx Anastacio of Perpetual Altas adjudged as Season 95 MVP for Senior’s Division, while International Mas Abelgas deemed as Coach of the Year.

Board 1 – Daryl Samantila of CSB, Board 2-Marc Christian Nazario of SBU, Board 3-John Fleer Donguines of CSB, Board 4-John Marx Anastacio of Altas, Board 5 – Louigi Beñas if Arellano and Board 6 -Johshua Marquez of LPU won individual Gold Medal awards.

“Pinaghandaan po talaga naming ito, since we end 4th place last season 94, dami naming sinalihang pre-season chess tournament satulong po nina Coach Roel at Coach Kenneth Rovillos.” MVP John Marx Anastacio said in interview.

“Sabi ko sa kanila focus lang game, subsequently, yung Carl Zirex Sato and Anastacio are rookie players coming from our last year Champion Junior Altas.” Coach Kennth Rovillos said.

While San Beda U Red Cubs Chess team dethrone Defending Champion Perpetual Juniors Altas board pushers in Championship match via 2.5 over 1.5 points of the Las Piñas City based Chess Team.

Gal Brein Palasigue of SBU declared Junior’s Division MVP, while Coach Ildefonso Datu as Coach of the Year.

IM Eric Labog Jr of UPH, (Board 1); Reginald Canlas of EAC-ICA Dasmariñas City, (Board 2); Gal Brein Palasigue of SBU, (Board 3); Christian James Aquino of UPH, (Board 4); James Michael Erese of Arellano, (Board 5); and Jerome Angelo Aragones (Board 6) won individual awards. (Dennis Abrina)